Me Scurvy Crew:
dramoth
trancejen
marchstar
ilmomof3
creda
star11071
autumn-fire
hipmama979
willow-rain
might-could
hissandtell
greenwitch
nygypsy
ahnalyse
la-the-sage
thecrankyone
discothekid
hothead
javias
magickyear
datura93

Plunder my treasures:
Nothing Special - March 25, 2005
From Ahnalyse - March 24, 2005
Tala's Recommendations and Questions - March 22, 2005
ilmom3's Recommendations and Questions - March 22, 2005
Fun From ilmomof3 - March 21, 2005

Host
Image
Design

Dr. Phil Sounds Dr. Nuts

I totally thought I had respect for Dr. Phil- but I just started reading his book called "Relationship Rescue" and his first few sentences have already turned me off. I am sick and tired of hearing how relationship problems can be solved by one person deciding to "find their center" (ie the woman) so that she can be a person who (and I quote) "inspire[s] others to treat them with equal respect". Frankly, I know I should be treated with respect. I am really pissy about the idea that one person, through their own sacrifice and "betterment", can pull the weight of both individuals until the other person decides to make an effort toward the relationship.

Now granted, these are only the first few pages. I have yet to really see what Dr. Phil has in store for me. I do, however, know that even if I find my center and give my 100% toward the relationship, if Justin doesn't want to work on the relationship, this is what will happen: he will not decide to contribute and make an effort after seeing my valiant attempts at being a model, centered human being. Most likely, he will see that I am giving 100% and therefore feel he needs to give nothing. I have played this game before.

Yet, I will continue reading because, what the hell, I don't have quite enough people telling me that my relationship should be saved at all costs. Just kidding.

I did read an article today that I really liked. The author said that she was bothered by people who thought that divorce should be avoided at all costs. She posited that happily married people are not shocked or dismayed at their friends' divorces, but that unhappily marrieds are- because they believe that if they are committing to live unhappily ever after, everyone else should too. The author thought that our culture should really be dismayed at those who would stay unhappily married, because that is a dysfunction in and of itself.

said the Dread Pirate Ro at 9:22 PM on January 20, 2005

Aarrgh! 5 scurvy dogs said "Ahoy, matey!"

Starboard
Port Bow
Ye Olde Logbook

Shiver Me Timbers
Blow Me Down
Bury Yer Treasure

I Am What I Am