Me Scurvy Crew:
dramoth
trancejen
marchstar
ilmomof3
creda
star11071
autumn-fire
hipmama979
willow-rain
might-could
hissandtell
greenwitch
nygypsy
ahnalyse
la-the-sage
thecrankyone
discothekid
hothead
javias
magickyear
datura93

Plunder my treasures:
Nothing Special - March 25, 2005
From Ahnalyse - March 24, 2005
Tala's Recommendations and Questions - March 22, 2005
ilmom3's Recommendations and Questions - March 22, 2005
Fun From ilmomof3 - March 21, 2005

Host
Image
Design

Thoughts of Summer

Topic: What are some of your favorite memories of summertime?

Summertime has always been a special time for me. It seems as if the heat makes everything more intense, even if the intensity is just lightly hovering around my laziness, making it feel like a special time of doing nothing before that special, unknown SOMETHING was magically ushered in by the coming of the fall. Summertime was almost timeless, being filled with lazy days, iced tea and diet coke, and good friends.

I remember back a very long time ago when R and K and I used to pretend that we were Egyptians ( I think we read too much of Zilpha Keatley Snyder's "The Egypt Game"). As a child, I had a very active imagination, and I could always count on R to keep up with me in creating fantastical worlds with our combined imagination, and, of course, K around to take our shit. I really do wonder if she feels bad that she was our lackey, and I hope there are no hard feelings!

More recently, I can recall the listless summers between college semesters, when it felt like nothing was really happening, so anything that did happen held a much greater importance. I remember all of the time I spent debating about my relationship with D, which ended one August with much flair after an apartment break-in and some police reports being filed. More fondly, I remember walking to the Normal library with R and A, sometimes in the fine, misty rain of Illinois summers; usually we were accompanying R on a mission to pick up more romance novels, or to just get into a nice, clean, air-conditioned building.

Most recently, I can recall sitting with my husband and his mother and her boyfriend, having margaritas and doing nothing of consequence. Ahh, to have moments where nothing is of consequence- isn't that what summer is truly about?

So...go and do something that is nothing of consequence! Get off the computer and go have an adventure outside, while the imagination is ripe and the weather is hot!!

said the Dread Pirate Ro at 1:08 AM on July 01, 2004

Aarrgh! 2 scurvy dogs said "Ahoy, matey!"

Starboard
Port Bow
Ye Olde Logbook

Shiver Me Timbers
Blow Me Down
Bury Yer Treasure

I Am What I Am