Me Scurvy Crew:
dramoth
trancejen
marchstar
ilmomof3
creda
star11071
autumn-fire
hipmama979
willow-rain
might-could
hissandtell
greenwitch
nygypsy
ahnalyse
la-the-sage
thecrankyone
discothekid
hothead
javias
magickyear
datura93

Plunder my treasures:
Nothing Special - March 25, 2005
From Ahnalyse - March 24, 2005
Tala's Recommendations and Questions - March 22, 2005
ilmom3's Recommendations and Questions - March 22, 2005
Fun From ilmomof3 - March 21, 2005

Host
Image
Design

Wanted: A Few Winged Monkeys

I'm sitting here in my mom's bedroom, watching The Wizard of Oz with her and Elliot, and Elliot said, "The Wicked Witch is a baaaad witch" and I responded by saying, "I prefer to think of her as misunderstood". My mother laughed, but this prompted me to start thinking about how I have always identified more readily with the villains/bad guys in movies.

Maybe it's because they hold more allure. Maybe they seem to be more flashy, more 'who gives a shit', more saucy, more real. It reminds me of something I heard Oprah say (not a direct quote here): "I don't want to be called 'nice'. I am not nice".

Main Entry: nice

Pronunciation: 'nIs

Function: adjective

Inflected Form(s): nic�er; nic�est

Etymology: Middle English, foolish, wanton, from Old French, from Latin nescius ignorant, from nescire not to know -- more at NESCIENCE

1 obsolete a : WANTON, DISSOLUTE b : COY, RETICENT

2 a : showing fastidious or finicky tastes : PARTICULAR b : exacting in requirements or standards : PUNCTILIOUS

3 : possessing, marked by, or demanding great or excessive precision and delicacy

4 obsolete : TRIVIAL

5 a : PLEASING, AGREEABLE b : well-executed c : APPROPRIATE, FITTING

6 a : socially acceptable : WELL-BRED b : VIRTUOUS, RESPECTABLE

7 : POLITE, KIND

synonym see CORRECT

For a word, this definition has an interesting array of meanings, both current and obsolete. How interesting that this word originally meant 'foolish, wanton, and ignorant'. Even the current meanings of 'socially acceptable', 'pleasing' or 'agreeable', and even 'respectable' leave a stale taste in my mouth. I don't necessarily harbor a want to be pleasing- well, not to anyone in the expense of myself. The definition doesn't specify that being nice necessarily brings pleasure to others in the expense of self; however, I can say from experience that, when growing up, I was often praised for my polite and less-than-honest reactions to unpleasant situations by being told that I was 'nice'. Yuck.

So yes, like Oprah, I don't want to be called nice. It isn't an accurate description. I prefer to be more of a Wicked Witch of the West. She may have green skin, but she goes for what she wants with gusto. Yeah, she may be intimidating, but hell, I'd intimidate an insipid, NICE interloper like Dorothy if it meant that I would get highly sought-after footwear.

So don't go after my dancin' shoes. We may have words. After all, we wicked witches are often misunderstood.

said the Dread Pirate Ro at 10:14 PM on July 02, 2004

Aarrgh! 2 scurvy dogs said "Ahoy, matey!"

Starboard
Port Bow
Ye Olde Logbook

Shiver Me Timbers
Blow Me Down
Bury Yer Treasure

I Am What I Am