Me Scurvy Crew:
dramoth
trancejen
marchstar
ilmomof3
creda
star11071
autumn-fire
hipmama979
willow-rain
might-could
hissandtell
greenwitch
nygypsy
ahnalyse
la-the-sage
thecrankyone
discothekid
hothead
javias
magickyear
datura93

Plunder my treasures:
Nothing Special - March 25, 2005
From Ahnalyse - March 24, 2005
Tala's Recommendations and Questions - March 22, 2005
ilmom3's Recommendations and Questions - March 22, 2005
Fun From ilmomof3 - March 21, 2005

Host
Image
Design

Never Going In The Ocean Again

Things that are not smart:

Going out in the rain in a wool sweater

Not fueling up your car before crossing a large expanse of desert

Watching the movie "Open Water" when you are already phobic about the ocean and sharks

Ok, I have dreams about the ocean and sharks more than any other dreams. And most often, they are not too pleasant. I have had a hard time going snorkeling 15 feet away from the shoreline in Mexico. I have a shark phobia, and last night, for shits and giggles, I rented "Open Water".

Most normal non-pussies might not be freaked out by this movie- I, however, was freaking terrified. The premise of going out into the open ocean to scuba dive and being accidentally left behind because someone fucks up the head count on the boat was something that I could see happening- and indeed, it did happen in Australia (shark central) in 1999. I won't ruin the movie, but let me tell you, the night scenes where the couple was floating in the dark in a thunderstorm with the husband already bit once by a shark and the wife screaming "Don't you leave me out here alone! Don't you die on me!" really sucked.

So, don't count on me EVER going with you to scuba dive. Maybe in a swimming pool. And snorkeling? MAYBE really, really close to shore.

said the Dread Pirate Ro at 8:25 AM on March 05, 2005

Aarrgh! 0 scurvy dogs said "Ahoy, matey!"

Starboard
Port Bow
Ye Olde Logbook

Shiver Me Timbers
Blow Me Down
Bury Yer Treasure

I Am What I Am