Me Scurvy Crew:
dramoth
trancejen
marchstar
ilmomof3
creda
star11071
autumn-fire
hipmama979
willow-rain
might-could
hissandtell
greenwitch
nygypsy
ahnalyse
la-the-sage
thecrankyone
discothekid
hothead
javias
magickyear
datura93

Plunder my treasures:
Nothing Special - March 25, 2005
From Ahnalyse - March 24, 2005
Tala's Recommendations and Questions - March 22, 2005
ilmom3's Recommendations and Questions - March 22, 2005
Fun From ilmomof3 - March 21, 2005

Host
Image
Design

The Mousy Librarian...

Today, I've been thinking about my job at the library, and how I let go of doing full-time massage therapy. I want to start talking to myself about it in the language of responsibility and choice. I am doing this analysis in my life in general, but I can start here with some pretty juicy work. I have started out with this:

I have taken a job as a librarian because I want...

- stable income that I can count on
- security
- to have to worry less about money

I am not working as a massage therapist because...

- I am afraid that I can't support myself doing that work
- I am scared that I will find out I am not as good a therapist as I would need to be to support myself
- I currently do not have the drive and discipline to sell myself to clients or to keep a self-made schedule

Wow. Those last three were really hard to write. It is also hard for me to admit that I need security- I find that I compare myself to others detrimentally in the areas where I feel more practical, like that is a bad thing. Being around Pagans who are, in my estimation, more free-spirited and less uptight than I am really gives me the feeling that I am not ethereal enough- I feel like the lone Pagan equivalent of an accountant in a sea of Pagan rock stars, poets and dreamers.

A current concern in this vein- that I am going to get passed over for ritual work because I have already proven myself competent with other needed tasks at the Grove- cooking, dog watching, etc. I really want to work on my ritual skills this year, and I am nervous that I am not going to get that chance because I have proved dependable and competent in needed community-oriented areas. And if it happens, I will have to speak up and (here it comes) assert myself, talk about my concerns, wants, needs. I used to be so assertive, and I feel so mousy now. EEEK!

said the Dread Pirate Ro at 4:56 PM on February 08, 2005

Aarrgh! 2 scurvy dogs said "Ahoy, matey!"

Starboard
Port Bow
Ye Olde Logbook

Shiver Me Timbers
Blow Me Down
Bury Yer Treasure

I Am What I Am