Me Scurvy Crew:
dramoth
trancejen
marchstar
ilmomof3
creda
star11071
autumn-fire
hipmama979
willow-rain
might-could
hissandtell
greenwitch
nygypsy
ahnalyse
la-the-sage
thecrankyone
discothekid
hothead
javias
magickyear
datura93

Plunder my treasures:
Nothing Special - March 25, 2005
From Ahnalyse - March 24, 2005
Tala's Recommendations and Questions - March 22, 2005
ilmom3's Recommendations and Questions - March 22, 2005
Fun From ilmomof3 - March 21, 2005

Host
Image
Design

My Non-Negotiable List

MarshAster challenged me this weekend to define some of my non-negotiables in my spousal relationship. I think for the first time in forever, I am actually going to do that. Here are some that I already know:

I will not be in a relationship that has neither emotional nor physical intimacy. I am going to work on my definitions for both emotional and physical intimacy, because they are vague to me. The huge part of this non-negotiable is that the definition is 'up to me'.

I will not be in a relationship where I carry more than my fair share of the work to keep the household going on an everyday basis. "More than my fair share" means having to do the tasks that were assigned to but not done by my partner in the agreed-upon time frame for those tasks to be completed.

I will not be in a relationship where I feel communication is not respected, or one in which I am not listened to. Not being listened to and "lack of communication respect" is defined by my partner repeatedly changing the subject when I am talking about something important, not sharing their insights in a serious conversation (lack of commitment to the issues that are important to me), not participating in creating solutions to problems, zoning out and not hearing what I am saying, etc.

These are my first three. More to come, I am sure.

said the Dread Pirate Ro at 8:03 AM on January 31, 2005

Aarrgh! 6 scurvy dogs said "Ahoy, matey!"

Starboard
Port Bow
Ye Olde Logbook

Shiver Me Timbers
Blow Me Down
Bury Yer Treasure

I Am What I Am