Me Scurvy Crew:
dramoth
trancejen
marchstar
ilmomof3
creda
star11071
autumn-fire
hipmama979
willow-rain
might-could
hissandtell
greenwitch
nygypsy
ahnalyse
la-the-sage
thecrankyone
discothekid
hothead
javias
magickyear
datura93

Plunder my treasures:
Nothing Special - March 25, 2005
From Ahnalyse - March 24, 2005
Tala's Recommendations and Questions - March 22, 2005
ilmom3's Recommendations and Questions - March 22, 2005
Fun From ilmomof3 - March 21, 2005

Host
Image
Design

Cutting Out Half of My Potential Clientele???

As the New Year kicks off with a bang, I would love to talk to everyone about a little problem I am currently working through in my mind....I no longer feel comfortable massaging men.

Now, that isn't to say I no longer feel comfortable massaging ALL men. I love massaging men I know, such as my husband, my friends, etc. But as far as massaging complete strangers that happen to have penises, I really would rather not.

This is a diametrically different attitude than the one I had in massage school. In massage school, I most often partnered up with the only guy in our class- I was the person most comfortable working on and being worked on by the male half of our species. But things have changed a bit.

I really think it started with working at the small massage business with the Pentencostal. She took in a lot of random people, and if she didn't want to work on a particular person, or if they were a walk-in client, I was the one working on them.

The Fake Sleeper was a walk-in, and my first feelings of dread began to appear after having worked on him (trying to jerk off while pretending to be asleep because you are afflicted with a 'sleeping disorder is really strange in my book). Then I had the Aww Baby guy, who, once the session was over, said, "Aww, baby, come on, just a few more minutes, pretty please?" and then tried to hug me when he was leaving.

Soon, I was beginning to feel uncomfortable having male clients who were strangers when I was alone at the office- alone, and locked in during the massage so that no one could walk in and disturb the session. I know it isn't fair to not be as nervous around new female clients, but it's just how I was feeling, and how I still feel. I don't know why I don't have the ovaries to know that I could handle most any situation short of rape- we were trained to handle situations of that nature, but I feel more like a scared rabbit than a trained professional in dealing with unsavory sexual situations in regard to massage.

Anyways, I am thinking about how this could pan out, should I go back to massage full-time. I could work at a spa, where I would rarely (if ever) be completely alone, or I could just work on clients I know, and people they recommend to me. Or, I could get over this. I am not sure how, though. This 'scared rabbit' thing didn't just come up with massaging men- in a few other instances when I have had scary, unwanted sexual advances, I react in the same way. I feel so weak because of it (I like to see myself as this strong, take-no-shit hard-ass) but I am not sure how to change it. Anyone have any ideas?

said the Dread Pirate Ro at 10:01 AM on January 01, 2005

Aarrgh! 3 scurvy dogs said "Ahoy, matey!"

Starboard
Port Bow
Ye Olde Logbook

Shiver Me Timbers
Blow Me Down
Bury Yer Treasure

I Am What I Am