Me Scurvy Crew:
dramoth
trancejen
marchstar
ilmomof3
creda
star11071
autumn-fire
hipmama979
willow-rain
might-could
hissandtell
greenwitch
nygypsy
ahnalyse
la-the-sage
thecrankyone
discothekid
hothead
javias
magickyear
datura93

Plunder my treasures:
Nothing Special - March 25, 2005
From Ahnalyse - March 24, 2005
Tala's Recommendations and Questions - March 22, 2005
ilmom3's Recommendations and Questions - March 22, 2005
Fun From ilmomof3 - March 21, 2005

Host
Image
Design

A Short Questionaire for 2004

I took this from might-could:

1. What did you do in 2004 that you�ve never done before? I went to my first Witchcamp in Texas, and I drove there alone from Mississippi (12 hours each way alone in a car is a record for me).

2. Did you keep your New Year�s resolutions, and will you make more for this year? I didn�t make any resolutions last year, but I think I might make one this year- to lose some weight for health reasons.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth? Yes, my lovely friend Angela gave birth in July and we now have the fabulous Gabrielle in the world.

4. Did anyone close to you die? Jasmine VanSteenberg died on February 14th due to (I am still not sure I understand what happened) an infection in her transplanted lungs. She had cystic fibrosis.

5. What countries did you visit? None this year.

6. What would you like to have in 2005 that you lacked in 2004? An ass you can bounce a quarter off of.

7. What dates from 2004 will remain etched in your memory, and why? All the days around Jasmine�s death will always be in my memory; I will especially remember the day of her wake. I will also remember some really heavy moments from Witchcamp.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year? Graduating from massage therapy school.

9. What was your biggest failure? I don�t know that I feel I have had any failures�maybe it�s a failure that I didn�t run away from home and go take a break for a while in AZ or IL�but I think of it more as a choice than a failure.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury? Let�s see�I had some freaky stomach virus early in the year, but aside from that, just your occasional UTI.

11. What was the best thing you bought? I really couldn�t tell you�probably one of my numerous books, or Sims2.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration? My husband. He has really dealt with a lot of my shit this year.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed? The owner of the massage therapy school I graduated from. She literally fell apart when her partner left her, and practically took all of us with her. Her behavior was (in my eyes) very unprofessional, spiteful, and chaotic.

14. Where did most of your money go? Jeez, to bills, I guess.

15. What did you get really, really excited about? Witchcamp. Mo made it possible for me to go, and I am ever grateful for the experience.

16. What song will always remind you of 2004? I really don�t know�maybe that Nelly/Tim McGraw monstrosity, just because it makes me wonder how long until the endo of the world comes, even if it arrives just to put me out of my misery.

17. Compared to last year, are you happier or sadder? Probably sadder, but I prefer to call it �more realistic�. Last year, I was really on this whole �take on the world� kick, and I think that the circumstances of this year have taught me that I have a lot to learn.

18. What do you wish you�d done more of? Dancing.

19. What do you wish you�d done less of? Eating.

20. How will you be spending Christmas? Already spent it sitting around the house, boring myself to tears, and loving every minute of it.

21. Did you fall in love in 2004? No, just had a few crushes.

22. How many one-night stands? Nope

23. What was your favorite TV Program? I stopped watching TV this year, but whenever I had the chance, I loved seeing �Nip/Tuck�

24. Do you hate anyone now that you didn�t hate this time last year? I don�t think I hate anyone, but I am still harboring my intense dislike for one of my aunts who continues to try to break down my brother�s confidence and self-esteem.

25. What was the best book you read? I really liked �White Oleander� by Janet Fitch.

26. What was your greatest musical discovery? I found that I really like T. Thorn Coyle�s work.

27. What did you want and get? I wanted to graduate from massage school, and I did.

28. What was your favorite film this year? It sounds so ridiculous, but I loved Dodgeball. Return of the King came out last year, so it doesn�t count.

29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you? I turned 25. I just went out for dinner with my hubby.

30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying? Knowing whether I should stay with or leave my current relationship.

31. What political issue stirred you the most? Don�t get me started. I saw a woman driving an SUV yesterday with a license plate that said �conserve our natural resources� and a �W: The President� sticker right next to it. Mississippians, in general, lack the sort of irony that could have made that a joke. Ok, now that I have vented�I think the �moral values� bullshit I have been hearing as of late pisses me off the most.

32. Who did you miss? I miss my mom, my dad, my brother, Elliot, Angela, Rox, the VanSteenbergs, all of my friends that I never get to see anymore, etc. There are lots to miss.

33. Who was the best new person you met? I would have to say Deirdra. She has been a big shining beacon of light for me this year.

34. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2004. You can always make another choice.

34. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
Ok, I will give you a whole song, how about that?
"Fuel"- Ani DiFranco

they were digging a new foudation in Manhattan
and they discovered a slave cemetary there
may their souls rest easy
now that lynching is frowned upon
and we've moved on to the electric chair
and i wonder who's gonna be president, tweedle dum or tweedle dummer?
and who's gonna have the big blockbuster box office this summer?
howabout we put up a wall between houses and the highway
and then you can go your way , and i can go my may

except all the radios agree with all the tvs
and all the magazines agree with all the radios
and i keep hearing that same damn song everywhere i go
maybe i should put a bucket over my head
and a marshmallow in each ear
and stumble around for
another dumb- dumb week waiting for another hit song to appear

people used to make records
as in a record of an event
the event of people playing music in a room
now everything is cross-marketing
its about sunglasses and shoes
or guns and drugs
you choose
we got it rehashed
we got it half-assed
we're digging up all the graves
and we're spitting on the past
and you can choose between the colors
of the lipstick on the whores
cause we know the difference between
the font of 20% more
and the font of teriakiyi
you tell me
how does it make you feel?
you tell me
what's real?

and they say that alcoholics are always alcoholics
even when they're as dry as my lips for years
even when they're stranded on a small desert island
with no place within 2,000 miles to buy beer
and i wonder
is he different?
is he different?
has he changed? what's he about?...
or is he just a liar with nothing to lie about?

Am i headed for the same brick wall
is there anything i can do about
anything at all?
except go back to that corner in Manhattan
and dig deeper, dig deeper this time
down beneath the impossible pain of our history
beneath unknown bones
beneath the bedrock of the mystery
beneath the sewage systems and the path drain
beneath the cobblestones and the water mains
beneath the traffic of friendships and street deals
beneath the screeching of kamikaze cab wheels
beneath everything i can think of to think about
beneath it all, beneath all get out
beneath the good and the kind and the stupid and the cruel
there's a fire just waiting for fuel

there's a fire just waiting for fuel
there's a fire just waiting for fuel

said the Dread Pirate Ro at 12:10 PM on December 30, 2004

Aarrgh! 2 scurvy dogs said "Ahoy, matey!"

Starboard
Port Bow
Ye Olde Logbook

Shiver Me Timbers
Blow Me Down
Bury Yer Treasure

I Am What I Am