Me Scurvy Crew:
dramoth
trancejen
marchstar
ilmomof3
creda
star11071
autumn-fire
hipmama979
willow-rain
might-could
hissandtell
greenwitch
nygypsy
ahnalyse
la-the-sage
thecrankyone
discothekid
hothead
javias
magickyear
datura93

Plunder my treasures:
Nothing Special - March 25, 2005
From Ahnalyse - March 24, 2005
Tala's Recommendations and Questions - March 22, 2005
ilmom3's Recommendations and Questions - March 22, 2005
Fun From ilmomof3 - March 21, 2005

Host
Image
Design

Pagans on Film

Ok, I just finished watching 'Merlin', a made-for-TV movie, and I have to say that I am disappointed about how they portray Paganism in the movie, or, as they call it, 'the old ways'. It's quite ridiculous. They even add a character (Queen Mab) who has nothing to do with the Arthurian myths; she is supposed to be the misguided proponent of pagan ways, and through her zeal to keep Paganism alive in newly-Christianized Britain, she does things that are very questionable in the ethics department.

I just don't like it. I had the same problem with the TV adaptation of 'Mists of Avalon'. All they did was make it into a medieval soap opera and battle-of-the-religions. It had none of the subtle nuance of Bradley's book, and it totally skipped over the main, overarching point that all religions are really looking at the same thing from differing viewpoints. It's sad.

I can't even really think of one movie that doesn't do damage to the Pagan religion in some way. Not a single one. Definitely not 'Wicker Man'; even 'Practical Magic', which I feel is harmless and at least portrays some of the ethical ideals that some Pagans adhere to, it still fuels ridiculous stereotypes. I guess you just can't win.

If anyone can come up with a movie that I am not thinking of that is worldly in the ways of the Pagan, let me know!

said the Dread Pirate Ro at 9:29 PM on June 19, 2004

Aarrgh! 0 scurvy dogs said "Ahoy, matey!"

Starboard
Port Bow
Ye Olde Logbook

Shiver Me Timbers
Blow Me Down
Bury Yer Treasure

I Am What I Am