Me Scurvy Crew:
dramoth
trancejen
marchstar
ilmomof3
creda
star11071
autumn-fire
hipmama979
willow-rain
might-could
hissandtell
greenwitch
nygypsy
ahnalyse
la-the-sage
thecrankyone
discothekid
hothead
javias
magickyear
datura93

Plunder my treasures:
Nothing Special - March 25, 2005
From Ahnalyse - March 24, 2005
Tala's Recommendations and Questions - March 22, 2005
ilmom3's Recommendations and Questions - March 22, 2005
Fun From ilmomof3 - March 21, 2005

Host
Image
Design

Rant

Ok, I am super pissy about what happened yesterday at school. First off, let me say that the director of the school and the administrator/ethics teacher of the program have drilled it into our heads that, as professionals, we are responsible to our clients. We have a responsibility to be accountable for our actions, because we are providing a service that these clients are paying for.

Well, yesterday (and mind you, this is not the first time) we had a situation where I and the rest of my classmates felt that the staff of the school are not holding up the ideals they preach. First, we were told that we were going to have a final on Wed, and were informed about a major part of the test on Tuesday- no, not the Tuesday before the Tuesday before the final, THE TUESDAY BEFORE THE FINAL. Basically, we were not aware that we would have to memorize the origins, insertions and actions of 10 muscles of our choice to write down as part of our final. We were made aware of this at the very last minute.

Then, after studying all Tuesday night, we come to class and are babysat by one of the teachers. I say babysat because he didn't teach us, he gave us busy work. This is not a random occurence. Anyways, we were supposed to have the final after lunch, so we weren't concerned. The director of the school was scheduled to come in to give us our final because she was our teacher for the class.

Guess who called and said she wasn't going to be able to make it in? Guess who told our babysitter to tell us that we would have the final next Wednesday? Guess who didn't have the final typed up or anything, so it couldn't even be administered by someone else? Yes, that would be the director of our school.

And did she give a reason for any of this, as in "so sorry I can't make it, I am having an emergency?" NO. Oh, let me tell you, we were all thunder-pissed. What the fuck!@! As far as I am concerned, I am a client to this school. I am paying $7,000 for their time, and I am not being taught most of the time (being babysat) and I am in the hands of a director who is not accountable. None of this would be acceptable behavior for a massage therapist with a client, so why is it acceptable for our ROLE MODEL, the grand pooh-bah of the school, the friggin owner and director? I guess I wouldn't personally be so pissed if this wasn't, oh, I don't know, MY CAREER!!!!!!! And if their ability to teach didn't directly influence whether or not I will be able to pass the NATIONAL CERTIFICATION EXAM!!!!!

Hmph.

said the Dread Pirate Ro at 8:14 AM on May 06, 2004

Aarrgh! 0 scurvy dogs said "Ahoy, matey!"

Starboard
Port Bow
Ye Olde Logbook

Shiver Me Timbers
Blow Me Down
Bury Yer Treasure

I Am What I Am