Me Scurvy Crew:
dramoth
trancejen
marchstar
ilmomof3
creda
star11071
autumn-fire
hipmama979
willow-rain
might-could
hissandtell
greenwitch
nygypsy
ahnalyse
la-the-sage
thecrankyone
discothekid
hothead
javias
magickyear
datura93

Plunder my treasures:
Nothing Special - March 25, 2005
From Ahnalyse - March 24, 2005
Tala's Recommendations and Questions - March 22, 2005
ilmom3's Recommendations and Questions - March 22, 2005
Fun From ilmomof3 - March 21, 2005

Host
Image
Design

Stories About The Gym

Ahh, the gym.

Recently, I've started liking going to the gym by myself- but only in the mornings, when it is quiet and not filled with the Bulging-Bicep-Guys or the Size-2s. It is really disheartening for me to work out next to someone who is both smaller and stronger than me, or way huge and buff and grunting. I don't know- it is probably a personality defect of mine, but my self-esteem about my body is so low right now that I don't need any sucker punches to my self-worth gut from the waifs or the 'roid enraged.

I don't think I like working out with J either- the last time we went to the gym, he laughed at me when I was trying to lift weights- he said I made a funny face- but he knows more than anyone how I feel that I look stupid in the weight room, and that I worry people are watching me and judging me. It just seemed like the antithesis of support of my trying to get in shape.

But, I am going to the gym on my own in the mornings, and I feel way better each time I come back. Today, while doing cardio, I kept the mantra "bounce a quarter off my ass" (which is my goal- to have an ass you can bounce a quarter off of) going in my head, and it helped me stay on the treadmill for 30 minutes. Mantras help me focus my mind, and I think I have my new weight-loss chant :)

said the Dread Pirate Ro at 9:43 AM on February 14, 2005

Aarrgh! 3 scurvy dogs said "Ahoy, matey!"

Starboard
Port Bow
Ye Olde Logbook

Shiver Me Timbers
Blow Me Down
Bury Yer Treasure

I Am What I Am