Me Scurvy Crew:
dramoth
trancejen
marchstar
ilmomof3
creda
star11071
autumn-fire
hipmama979
willow-rain
might-could
hissandtell
greenwitch
nygypsy
ahnalyse
la-the-sage
thecrankyone
discothekid
hothead
javias
magickyear
datura93

Plunder my treasures:
Nothing Special - March 25, 2005
From Ahnalyse - March 24, 2005
Tala's Recommendations and Questions - March 22, 2005
ilmom3's Recommendations and Questions - March 22, 2005
Fun From ilmomof3 - March 21, 2005

Host
Image
Design

I Love The South

Tenn. 'Demon Jeans' Assault Case Dismissed

Sat Jan 22, 8:10 PM ET

BRISTOL, Tenn. - A Sullivan County judge threw out a case between a preacher and three feuding sisters and warned them to leave one another alone.

All four faced assault charges that stemmed from a family scuffle and claims of being possessed by demons.

"This is the most ridiculous case I have ever seen in the court system," General Sessions Judge Bill Watson said Friday. "You people should be ashamed."

Reba Storey, 46, alleged the Rev. Clarence "June" Love, 83, called her demon-possessed and twisted her arm when he threw her out of church Jan. 9.

Storey and her sister Mary Steele, 64, showed up a the Assemblies of Jesus Church wearing blue jeans to see their 88-year-old mother, Maude Yates. The church that has a total of four members forbids women to wear pants.

"He said, 'You're not wearing pants in my church, you demon,'" Storey said. "I said, 'I'm so glad I serve a God who can work through my pants.'"

Love's girlfriend and a sister to the two women, 68-year-old Rosa Harrison, said the women grabbed their mother, shoved everyone else out of the way and tried to carry her out the door.

"I asked them to leave," Love said. "They told me to shut my mouth. God knows my heart. I've never been cruel to no woman. They're just troublemakers."

The judge ordered the family members to stay away from each other and set a court hearing for next year.

"It's a sad day when you have people go in a place of worship and do what was done in this case," Watson said. "I hope I never see a case like this come before this court again."

"Amen!" the preacher said.

Love said he plans to return to his church, where he says the sisters have driven away the congregation. The preacher wouldn't say whether he still thought Storey was possessed.

"All this has hurt the church real bad," he said.

Storey said she plans to continue her case in civil court.

"Do I look like I have a demon?" she said. "That's defamation of character."

___

Information from: Bristol Herald Courier, http://www.bristolnews.com

said the Dread Pirate Ro at 7:37 PM on January 23, 2005

Aarrgh! 0 scurvy dogs said "Ahoy, matey!"

Starboard
Port Bow
Ye Olde Logbook

Shiver Me Timbers
Blow Me Down
Bury Yer Treasure

I Am What I Am