Me Scurvy Crew:
dramoth
trancejen
marchstar
ilmomof3
creda
star11071
autumn-fire
hipmama979
willow-rain
might-could
hissandtell
greenwitch
nygypsy
ahnalyse
la-the-sage
thecrankyone
discothekid
hothead
javias
magickyear
datura93

Plunder my treasures:
Nothing Special - March 25, 2005
From Ahnalyse - March 24, 2005
Tala's Recommendations and Questions - March 22, 2005
ilmom3's Recommendations and Questions - March 22, 2005
Fun From ilmomof3 - March 21, 2005

Host
Image
Design

New Orleans Weekend Was.....Odd

This weekend in New Orleans was a strange combination of good and weird-bad. Overall, it was good, though.

Justin and I really had a good time together. When it was just the two of us, we spent a lot of time walking around looking at the crazy sights of the French Quarter, talking, and getting drunk. On to the weird-bad stuff:

The first night that we were in the hotel, Justin had a really, really bad nosebleed. The sheets were covered in blood on his side of the bed when we woke up. We called the front desk, told them about the situation, and they didn't seem concerned- they just said they would take care of it when housekeeping came. So we went on our merry way out to have some fun, and when we came back to the hotel in the afternoon to take a nap, our key wouldn't work. We went back and forth three times to the lobby (standing in a very long line each time) to try out different keys- none of which worked. We explained what had happened with the nosebleed to the front desk person just in case that was the reason we were locked out- and they said no, they couldn't see any reason.

Well, that was the reason, they were just uninformed or morons, I am not sure which. Eventually, we were met up at our room by hotel security, where we were interrogated about the blood- I guess they thought that we killed someone or had a bad fight or something. When we told the security guy that we called the front desk he said "well you should have called hotel security". WTF? Because everyone knows that when you have a problem at a hotel you call security, not the freakin' front desk. Whatever. Anyways, they were threatening to have us pay for the mattress- we are still not sure how that is going to come out.

Other weird-bad thing: we had to hang out with Justin's boss and his perfect girlfriend. 24 years old, blond, beautiful, a size 4 and tall. Oh, and perfectly dressed. With perfect nails,too. And really fun and entertaining- she struck me as someone who lives to take care of herself and her body and party all the time.

For some strange reason (I can't imagine why) I felt really uncomfortable with them. I felt frumpy and ugly and horrid the whole time I was with them. I have renounced a life based solely on fitting into the cultural norm of physical perfection, but that norm still has so much power over me, and I hate it. I really, really hate it. I felt like Ann Coulter's "hippie chick pie wagon" and I felt really disgusted with myself. And I am still feeling it.

So, anyways, it was a weird weekend.

said the Dread Pirate Ro at 7:13 AM on December 13, 2004

Aarrgh! 0 scurvy dogs said "Ahoy, matey!"

Starboard
Port Bow
Ye Olde Logbook

Shiver Me Timbers
Blow Me Down
Bury Yer Treasure

I Am What I Am