Me Scurvy Crew:
dramoth
trancejen
marchstar
ilmomof3
creda
star11071
autumn-fire
hipmama979
willow-rain
might-could
hissandtell
greenwitch
nygypsy
ahnalyse
la-the-sage
thecrankyone
discothekid
hothead
javias
magickyear
datura93

Plunder my treasures:
Nothing Special - March 25, 2005
From Ahnalyse - March 24, 2005
Tala's Recommendations and Questions - March 22, 2005
ilmom3's Recommendations and Questions - March 22, 2005
Fun From ilmomof3 - March 21, 2005

Host
Image
Design

Geriatric Computer Classes from Hell

Today will be another exercise in patience. Yes, I am going to be teaching another Senior Citizen Computer Class.

It is hell on earth. Something hellish motivated the library to try to teach people with a mean age of 70 to use Microsoft Word, the internet and Excel. Most of them can't even double-click on an icon- they usually end up dragging it all over the desktop. And signing them up for email? I wanted to slit my wrists last week. Here is how it went down.

PirateRo: Ok, now pick a Yahoo ID that will be unique. There are millions of people that use Yahoo, so you have to try to come up with something VERY UNIQUE.

Geriatric #1: I want to use the word "cat".

Geriatric #2: Amazing...someone is already using "marysmith" as their Yahoo ID! Amazing!

Geriatric #1: Someone is already using "cat"!!! That is so odd! Maybe "buttons" will work...

PirateRo: I think that you are going to have to use some numbers at the end of your id if you want to use "buttons"...

Geriatric #1: Ok, how about "buttons1"?

Geriatric #3: Should I use my post office box as my email address? I want all my mail to go to my post office box.

PirateRo: Ma'am, an email address isn't a physical address. (Spend ten minutes explaining this concept).

And it goes on, and on, and on. Sigh. Today we teach Excel.

said the Dread Pirate Ro at 8:25 AM on December 09, 2004

Aarrgh! 6 scurvy dogs said "Ahoy, matey!"

Starboard
Port Bow
Ye Olde Logbook

Shiver Me Timbers
Blow Me Down
Bury Yer Treasure

I Am What I Am