Me Scurvy Crew:
dramoth
trancejen
marchstar
ilmomof3
creda
star11071
autumn-fire
hipmama979
willow-rain
might-could
hissandtell
greenwitch
nygypsy
ahnalyse
la-the-sage
thecrankyone
discothekid
hothead
javias
magickyear
datura93

Plunder my treasures:
Nothing Special - March 25, 2005
From Ahnalyse - March 24, 2005
Tala's Recommendations and Questions - March 22, 2005
ilmom3's Recommendations and Questions - March 22, 2005
Fun From ilmomof3 - March 21, 2005

Host
Image
Design

Solstice Stuff from the Pirate Herself

I wrote this for the service I am taking part in today for the Solstice (I was asked to speak of Reclaiming traditions at the Solstice):

Ahh, to talk of Reclaiming traditions for the Solstice...what exactly shall I say? Reclaiming Witchcraft, as a newer version of earth-based spirituality, could be said to be the antithesis of tradition- we follow no definite dogma, have no prescribed beliefs, and honor those rituals of life that are created in the moment, blessed by the touch of spiritual genius that comes when words are not commanded to a page to be repeated precisely. The flow and inspiration of the moment are honored in Reclaiming...so, I am afraid I have no Solstice traditions to offer you that come out of the Reclaiming community...save those that we create ourselves in the here and now.

I find myself in a period of waiting each year, from the Fall Equinox to the Solstice. At the Equinox, the time where light and dark are equal, I plant the seeds of change that I want for my life in the new year coming. At Solstice, these seeds sprout- I give birth to the newness that I want to bring into my life.

For me, the Solstice is about creation, renewed hope, the birthing process...especially the birthing process. In my beliefs, the Goddess gives birth to the Sun, our God, on the Solstice. Birthing is a lengthy, messy process- any of you who have birthed anything know exactly what I am talking about. And no, this is not an area that excludes men or women without children- we all are constantly birthing things- our ideas, the solutions to our problems, ourselves. Sometimes the birth is indeed virginal- the new thought, idea, process, etc. is brought into this world by our hands alone. Sometimes the birth is collaborative. Sometimes the birth is a communal one, fulfilling the needs of many.

As we near the Solstice, I invite us all to think of what we want to bring into our lives at this time of year- what we are currently in the process of giving birth to. What seeds did we plant earlier this year that are just starting to sprout? What newness are we ready to bring to the world at this time of the rebirth of light? For in the darkness that comes before the dawn, we are each our own lights- it is up to us to choose to give that light to brighten the darkness.

I also wrote this short elemental invocation:

Let us honor the air that is present in every breath,

Let us witness the flame that is sacred within our hearts.

Let us feel the pulse of the waters within us,

Let us stand firm in the earth that supports us.

For with all these things, we are the spirit of the world.

Blessed Be.


said the Dread Pirate Ro at 8:45 AM on December 05, 2004

Aarrgh! 1 scurvy dogs said "Ahoy, matey!"

Starboard
Port Bow
Ye Olde Logbook

Shiver Me Timbers
Blow Me Down
Bury Yer Treasure

I Am What I Am