Me Scurvy Crew:
dramoth
trancejen
marchstar
ilmomof3
creda
star11071
autumn-fire
hipmama979
willow-rain
might-could
hissandtell
greenwitch
nygypsy
ahnalyse
la-the-sage
thecrankyone
discothekid
hothead
javias
magickyear
datura93

Plunder my treasures:
Nothing Special - March 25, 2005
From Ahnalyse - March 24, 2005
Tala's Recommendations and Questions - March 22, 2005
ilmom3's Recommendations and Questions - March 22, 2005
Fun From ilmomof3 - March 21, 2005

Host
Image
Design

Witchcamp

This entry is a duplicate of my most recent LJ entry...


Ok, where to begin....at the beginning, I suppose. I traveled 8 hours on Friday to a KOA right outside of Houston near Katy, TX. Houston has ungodly traffic, FYI. Houston reminded me a lot of MS, just way drier and with smaller trees.

So, I woke up on Saturday and got on the road. I really wanted to get into the mood for camp, so I put on one of my green hippie dresses. I thought it was less hippie than some of the others- it is darker and doesn't have spaghetti straps that make bras impossible. Well, in Texas, it was very hippie. I remember getting stared at in a McDonalds by more than a few individuals.

I made it to camp, got settled in, and waited for RF to arrive. In about an hour, she was there, along with her caravan of two friends, W and R. We all had the same side of a cabin to ourselves, so we were able to make merry to some extent, as long as we weren't being told to "use our inside voices" by a person on the other side of the cabin who turned out to be the most annoying part of the experience. More on her later.

So, what to say about path...RF, W and I all took the "Sex in the Wild" path with teachers Ravyn and Lilith. To make a long story short, for me the path was about a few things: getting in touch with the wild, which was defined as something different than that which is natural (natural was defined as anything that is existing on the earth, so everything and anything is natural because it is part of our world; wild things are those that are self-regulating and answer to themselves) and finding the places within myself that could connect to the wild; path was also about freeing up some of my sexual energy that was blocked; I also really like the concept they used of being a "pansexual being"- one who is in sexual relationship with the world. I myself am fond of metaphors, so I took this to mean being a lover/steward of the earth, etc. We were encouraged on one occasion to really drop the idea of it as a metaphor, and, as we felt called during a particular exercise where we had time to walk alone in a wooded, wild area, really become a lover of the earth. As in, if you felt called, go ahead and have sex with the earth. But ask for permission from the plant/tree/rocks you are going to start a relationship with first- that was stressed. I myself was not able to go there, but there were more than a few individuals who were able to.

Other things about path...we grabbed partners and did a sensing exercise, where one person was the "senser" and the other was sensed....so we really got close up and sniffed, touched, tasted, looked at listened to our partner. I shocked myself when I really enjoyed being sensed- I thought I would be more comfortable doing the sensing, because I am generally a giver, not a receiver. I really loved being sensed, though. It may have come from the partner I was with, in retrospect- she was very respectful, comforting, but really danced with my boundaries. I enjoyed the exercise.

In the Allies circle, we were all in a circle and then one person jumped into the middle of the circle and said what they desired (it didn't matter if you ever planned to act on it or not) and then anyone else who also felt that desire jumped into the center of the circle too; we were encouraged to notice those who shared our desires and those who were still our allies on the edge of the circle, holding the container for our sharing. It was in this exercise that I really found out that there are a lot of desires that I want to explore (like domination/submission) that I haven't ever tried. This exercise was the start of a conversation with a woman who is a professional dominatrix, and she gave me a lot of information on it. I am thinking about exploring that world a little more.

Two things that emotionally hit home for me in path...the "sexual landscape" and "getting in touch with your home" parts of a trance. We were encouraged in trance to see our sexual landscape, a visualization of what our sexuality is like. I have done this exercise before, and I couldn't come up with an image, but I was able to this time- my sexuality was a concrete zoo that had many wild animals in it, and the animals were despairing of their captivity. For the "getting in touch with your home" part, I really realized that I haven't really given Mississippi a chance- I haven't really gotten to know its quirks, where my watershed is, the plants that are peculiar to this area, etc. I am so in love with Illinois that I haven't really tried to develop a love affair with this land.

Moving on to ritual...wow. Ritual was deeper for me than path. The story was just so timely and poignant for me- Lilith, deciding for herself what was unacceptable to her, what she could no longer take, leaving the Garden of Eden, the illusions in her life, to search out the wild places, to answer to herself. Adam's lamenting Lilith's not being able to back down and just let him be on top. Lilith lamenting her decision, wondering if she made the right choice. Lilith dancing with her demons, hearing the stories about herself that were circulating all over the earth, deciding whether or not to hold on to them, to carry them as truth. Lilith coming back to Eden to talk with Eve. I cried a lot in ritual. Hell, I cried a lot outside of ritual. It was very moving for me.

Talent show was so fucking funny, I almost wet myself. There was slam poetry from M about women's pies, and how he loves them all. Poultry Pagans...I can't even describe it here, if you want further details, please email me directly. The breast ballet was so fun to be in- I even had a cameo when we did the Milkshake song. Priceless. What was probably the coolest for me was Z, who has been a bellydancer/teacher of bellydance for 28 years. She performed twice, and oh my goddess, I need to bellydance. I am in love with bellydance. I have the belly and the hips- bring on the dance! :)

So, I had an AWESOME time. There is a lot of personal stuff that I can't even describe here- it is just a part of me now, I probably couldn't even identify it if I tried. I feel refreshed, rejuvenated and released. I feel better overall for going. I made some good friends out of W and R, and I released some things to RF that were timely. As Martha would say, Witchcamp is a good thing.

said the Dread Pirate Ro at 7:46 AM on November 01, 2004

Aarrgh! 1 scurvy dogs said "Ahoy, matey!"

Starboard
Port Bow
Ye Olde Logbook

Shiver Me Timbers
Blow Me Down
Bury Yer Treasure

I Am What I Am