Me Scurvy Crew:
dramoth
trancejen
marchstar
ilmomof3
creda
star11071
autumn-fire
hipmama979
willow-rain
might-could
hissandtell
greenwitch
nygypsy
ahnalyse
la-the-sage
thecrankyone
discothekid
hothead
javias
magickyear
datura93

Plunder my treasures:
Nothing Special - March 25, 2005
From Ahnalyse - March 24, 2005
Tala's Recommendations and Questions - March 22, 2005
ilmom3's Recommendations and Questions - March 22, 2005
Fun From ilmomof3 - March 21, 2005

Host
Image
Design

Judge and Jury

I really need to work on being less judgemental. I need to cultivate compassion for those who have different opinions than I do. It's really very hard for me to do, especially with hot-button issues like the 'war on terror', homosexual marriage, etc.

W just called me a few hours ago, and I can't get our conversation off of my mind. She started talking about the war on terror, and how she wishes the US would just close our borders to Muslims and people from the Middle East. She even called herself an isolationist.

My opinion on this topic is 180 degrees away from hers. My gut reaction is that it is wrong to judge a whole group of people on a bunch of fanatics- if we did, one hell of a lot of Christians would have to answer for the WACO Texas fiasco and the Jim Jones massacre.

I also would rather sacrifice the appearance of safety in order to save our civil liberties- I feel that as an American, blessed with the freedoms that we have, we should do all in our power to make those freedoms sacred and protect them- otherwise we are in danger of turning into a country with the same type of government that we villify.

I could go on and on, but that isn't the point. The point is that I love W, and I don't want to have these judgemental feelings toward her because of her opinions. Her opinion is just as valid as mine. However, I still feel strange about the whole conversation.

One of the 5 Cornerstones that we use at Diana's Grove to stand in our integrity is "Thinking Well of Others". The idea is that we should try to think well of the people we choose to associate with- heck, we chose them to be our friends, lovers, etc., so what does it say about us when we think badly about them? As you can probably see, having issues with this cornerstone can be linked to issues with the other cornerstones (Thinking Well of Self, Choice, Sacred Wounds, and Stewardship of Self). I have been working with this cornerstone for a while now, and it is very difficult for me.

Hoping this gets better with reflection....

said the Dread Pirate Ro at 8:23 PM on July 17, 2004

Aarrgh! 4 scurvy dogs said "Ahoy, matey!"

Starboard
Port Bow
Ye Olde Logbook

Shiver Me Timbers
Blow Me Down
Bury Yer Treasure

I Am What I Am