Me Scurvy Crew:
dramoth
trancejen
marchstar
ilmomof3
creda
star11071
autumn-fire
hipmama979
willow-rain
might-could
hissandtell
greenwitch
nygypsy
ahnalyse
la-the-sage
thecrankyone
discothekid
hothead
javias
magickyear
datura93

Plunder my treasures:
Nothing Special - March 25, 2005
From Ahnalyse - March 24, 2005
Tala's Recommendations and Questions - March 22, 2005
ilmom3's Recommendations and Questions - March 22, 2005
Fun From ilmomof3 - March 21, 2005

Host
Image
Design

Attempts at Better Communication Skills for Pagans

This is a letter that I recently posted to a yahoo group that I belong to. I have been witnessing a lot of strife in our small, burgeoning community as of late, and I would really like to see a beginning of better communication. I truly hope that I wasn't out of line when I posted this.

Community....common unity.

I like to think of community as such- a common unity amongst

individuals who strive to attain the same goals.

Having said this, I am going to put my 2 cents in about the nature of

email and how it is a wonderful conduit for miscommunication in a

community.

I like to think of email as a way to disseminate information, such as

times, places for events, as well as other group-specific information;

for this particular group, spiritual notions, correspondences, moon

lore, etc. I find that email is a great way to share information of

this nature.

It has been my experience that personal discussions tend to get

misinterpreted, mangled, and heated via email. Unlike a phone

conversation or face-to-face talk, email has no way of expressing the

subtle nuances of voice tone, facial expression, etc. that create the

*meaning* behind our words. Email just uses the words, leaving the

interpretation up to the reader and their own mythic story about what

those words could mean. What I mean by mythic story is those stories

we tell ourselves about our world. If we are feeling insecure, a

statement made via email could feel like a personal attack, because our

emotions and what we tell ourselves about ourselves and our world

colors the words of the email. Conversely, if we are feeling on top of

the world and confident, those same words will have a different effect.

I am not comfortable with emotional problems being expressed on a

public email list. I know that if I had a personal problem with

anything that was written on this list, I would either email the

individual who wrote the email privately about it, or, even better, I

would try to contact them via phone or in person to discuss the matter.

This is just how I personally handle these situations. I have been on

lists that have taken a stance such as this (no personal discussions of

posted emails sent to the list) and things have generally worked out

for the better. This is my suggestion for this group.

Community....common unity.

Hoping for responsible interactions,

Rowan AutumnFire

said the Dread Pirate Ro at 4:36 PM on June 17, 2004

Aarrgh! 0 scurvy dogs said "Ahoy, matey!"

Starboard
Port Bow
Ye Olde Logbook

Shiver Me Timbers
Blow Me Down
Bury Yer Treasure

I Am What I Am